



# Meeting Minutes of the Department of Physics

Wednesday, March 7, 2012 | 5310 Chamberlin Hall

The meeting was called to order by Bob Joynt, Department Chair at 12:15 PM with 25 voting members present.

### **Action Items Approved**

#### 1. Announcements

- Congratulations to Maxim Vavilov whose tenure case was approved by L&S.
- Congratulations to Karsten Heeger's student Walter Pettus and Mark Saffman's student Also Alex Carr on being selected to participate in this year's Lindau Nobel Laureate meeting.
- Physics student Prospective Grad Visits are scheduled for March 9 and March 23
- Faculty reception will be held at 5:30 on Friday at the Fluno Center.
- Physics student awards deadline is March 15, 2012 at 4:00 PM Central Time. Got to http://www.physics.wisc.edu/awards/ for more information.
- Spring Break is the week of April 1<sup>st</sup> through 6<sup>th</sup>.

#### 2. Chair Preferential Ballot

• The preferential ballot for the department chair for academic year 2012-13 was taken.

#### 3. Alumni Awards

 Eric Braaten, Allan Caldwell, Ron Lockwood, and Gary Hill have been nominated for Distinguished Alumni Awards. Robertson Leach has been nominated for Distinguished Service Award. (Vote: A motion was made to approve the nominations 1<sup>st</sup> by Halzen | 2<sup>nd</sup> Coppersmith | Approved by unanimous voice vote).

## 4. Closed Meeting

Closed meeting to discuss personnel matters—pursuant to Section 19.85(1)(c).
Closed to all but Associate Professors and Full Professors