Meeting Minutes of the Department of Physics



Wednesday, May 2, 2012 | 12:15 PM | 5310 Chamberlin Hall

The meeting was called to order by Bob Joynt, Department Chair at 12:15 PM with 19 voting members present.

Action Items Approved

- Faculty Senate Vote: Carlsmith, Maruyama, and Vavilov approved
- Board of Visitors: List of possible charter members approved
- 1. Announcements
 - Physics Awards banquet is this Friday at the Fluno Center.
 - Planning has begun on the faculty lounge and a modified proposal will be ready in the next week or so.
- 2. Staff Changes
 - Teresa Sherron will be leaving Physics. Rita Knox is the new payroll person. Her office is in the main office 2320E.
- 3. Update on Hiring
 - Vandenbroucke has accepted our offer. Start date and details are still being worked out.
 - Reece has accepted an offer at Harvard.
 - Bai will receive an offer soon.
 - Ji offer has been approved by south hall. Space considerations and power issues are still being worked out.
 - Rosenzweig offer is still a possibility. There has been no action.
 - Hire for next year: Joynt will request three new positions for next year.
- 4. Faculty Senate Vote
 - Faculty Senate nominations are for Carlsmith, Maruyama, and Vavilov were discussed. (Vote: 1st by Joynt | 2nd Gilbert | Approved by unanimous voice vote).
- 5. Board of Visitors
 - List of possible charter members for the Physics Department Board of Visitors was discussed. (Vote: 1st by Joynt | 2nd Forest | Approved by unanimous voice vote).

Department of Physic