PhD Program Contacts & Committees

Associate Chair for Graduate Program

Kevin Black

Position title: Professor, Associate Chair for Graduate Program

Email: kblack@hep.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-1232

4217 Chamberlin Hall

PhD Program Manager

Sharon Kahn

Position title: Graduate Program Manager

Email: smkahn@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-9678

2320 F Chamberlin Hall

Admissions & Fellowship Committee

Chair: Bechtol

Keith Bechtol

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: kbechtol@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-5815

6203 Chamberlin Hall

Uwe Bergmann

Position title: Martin L. Perl Endowed Professor in Ultrafast X-Ray Science

Email: ubergmann@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-1152

Duncan Carlsmith

Position title: Professor

Email: duncan@hep.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-2485

4285 Chamberlin Hall

Mark Friesen

Position title: Distinguished Scientist

Email: friesen@physics.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-2496

5326 Chamberlin Hall

Sharon Kahn

Position title: Graduate Program Manager

Email: smkahn@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-9678

2320 F Chamberlin Hall

Shimon Kolkowitz

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: kolkowitz@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-2865

5279 Chamberlin Hall

Lu Lu

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: lu.lu@icecube.wisc.edu

Moritz Münchmeyer

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: muenchmeyer@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-0983

6205 Chamberlin Hall

Mark Saffman

Position title: Professor

Email: msaffman@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-5601

5330 Chamberlin Hall

Deniz Yavuz

Position title: Professor

Email: yavuz@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-9399

5320 Chamberlin Hall

Program Committee

Chair: Black

Kevin Black

Position title: Professor, Associate Chair for Graduate Program

Email: kblack@hep.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-1232

4217 Chamberlin Hall

Yang Bai

Position title: Professor

Email: yangbai@physics.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-3242

5211 Chamberlin Hall

Stanislav Boldyrev

Position title: Professor

Email: boldyrev@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-2338

3273 Chamberlin Hall

Lisa L Everett

Position title: Professor

Email: leverett@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-4699

5215 Chamberlin Hall

Sharon Kahn

Position title: Graduate Program Manager

Email: smkahn@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-9678

2320 F Chamberlin Hall

Alex Levchenko

Position title: Professor

Email: levchenko@physics.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-4168

5324 Chamberlin Hall

Brian Rebel

Position title: Professor

Email: brebel@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-3989

4209 Chamberlin Hall

Qualifying Exam Committee

Chair: Everett

Lisa L Everett

Position title: Professor

Email: leverett@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-4699

5215 Chamberlin Hall

Yang Bai

Position title: Professor

Email: yangbai@physics.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-3242

5211 Chamberlin Hall

Stanislav Boldyrev

Position title: Professor

Email: boldyrev@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-2338

3273 Chamberlin Hall

Victor Brar

Position title: Van Vleck Assistant Professor

Email: vbrar@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-1139

2320 Chamberlin Hall

Matthew F Herndon

Position title: Professor

Email: herndon@hep.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-8509

4279 Chamberlin Hall

Sharon Kahn

Position title: Graduate Program Manager

Email: smkahn@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-9678

2320 F Chamberlin Hall

Dan McCammon

Position title: Professor

Email: mccammon@physics.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-5916

6207 Chamberlin Hall

Justin Vandenbroucke

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: justin.vandenbroucke@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-1477

4114 Chamberlin Hall

Maxim G Vavilov

Position title: Professor

Email: vavilov@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-5425

5318 Chamberlin Hall

Preliminary Exam Committee

Chair: Hashimoto

Akikazu Hashimoto

Position title: Professor

Email: aki@physics.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 265-3244

Memorial Union

Matthew F Herndon

Position title: Professor

Email: herndon@hep.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-8509

4279 Chamberlin Hall

Alex Levchenko

Position title: Professor

Email: levchenko@physics.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-4168

5324 Chamberlin Hall

Dan McCammon

Position title: Professor

Email: mccammon@physics.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-5916

6207 Chamberlin Hall

Maxim G Vavilov

Position title: Professor

Email: vavilov@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-5425

5318 Chamberlin Hall

First-year committee

Chair: Black

Kevin Black

Position title: Professor, Associate Chair for Graduate Program

Email: kblack@hep.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-1232

4217 Chamberlin Hall

Victor Brar

Position title: Van Vleck Assistant Professor

Email: vbrar@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-1139

2320 Chamberlin Hall

Ke Fang

Position title: Assistant Professor

Email: kefang@physics.wisc.edu

Cary Forest

Position title: Prager Professor of Experimental Physics

Email: cbforest@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-0486

3277 Chamberlin Hall

Matthew F Herndon

Position title: Professor

Email: herndon@hep.wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 262-8509

4279 Chamberlin Hall

Peter T Timbie

Position title: Professor

Email: pttimbie@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 890-2002

6209 Chamberlin Hall

Deniz Yavuz

Position title: Professor

Email: yavuz@wisc.edu

Phone: (608) 263-9399

5320 Chamberlin Hall

The graduate program coordinators work together with current student volunteers in the Physics Ph.D. Program to support prospective student visit weekends and new student orientation activities.

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Orientation Leaders

2021:

Ricardo Dos Santos Ximenes Filho

Jaglul Hasan

Jill Peery

Megan Tabbutt

Jessie Thwaites

2020:

Abby Bishop

Cameron Kuchta

Sarah McCarthy

Susmita Mondal

Trevor Oxholm

Megan Tabbutt

2019:

Kayla Leonard

Brent Mode

Trevor Oxholm

Susan Sorensen

Leslie Taylor

This is an accordion element with a series of buttons that open and close related content panels.

Recruitment Committee

2021:

Susmita Mondal

Trevor Oxholm

Kunal Sanwalka

Abigail Shearrow

Winnie Wang

202o:

Ben Harpt

Brent Mode

Trevor Oxholm

Megan Tabbutt

Leah Tom

2019:

Kayla Leonard

Trevor Oxholm

Megan Tabbutt

Leslie Taylor