Four students named Hilldale Fellows

Four physics majors have earned 2024 Hilldale Fellowships. They are:

  • Erica Magee, Mathematics and Physics major, working with Martin Zanni (Chemistry)
  • Quinn Meece, Astronomy – Physics and Physics major, working with Mark Saffman (Physics)
  • Elias Mettner, Physics major, working with Abdollah Mohammadi (Physics)
  • Leah Napiwocki, Astronomy – Physics and Physics major, working with Marsha Wolf (Astronomy)

The Hilldale Undergraduate/Faculty Research Fellowship provides research training and support to undergraduates at UW–Madison. Students have the opportunity to undertake their own research project in collaboration with UW–Madison faculty or research/instructional academic staff. Approximately 97 – 100 Hilldale awards are available each year.

The student researcher receives a $3,000 stipend (purpose unrestricted) and faculty/staff research advisor receives a $1,000 stipend to help offset research costs (e.g., supplies, books for the research, student travel related to the project).